Printable version
Related Pages
Font Size    

Meditation on Mahavakyas

Mahavakyas are the sacred sentences of the Srutis. They are four in number:

1. 'Prajnanam Brahma.'

2. 'Aham Brahma Asmi.'

3. 'Tat Tvam Asi.'

4. 'Ayam Atma Brahma.'

The first is in Aitareya Upanishad of Rig-Veda. The second is in Brihadaranyaka Upanishad of Yajur-Veda. The third is in Chhandogya Upanishad of Sama Veda. And the fourth is in Mandukya Upanishad of Atharvana Veda.

The first is a Lakshana Vakya which gives a definition of Brahman and imparts Tatbodha-Jnana. The second is an Anubhava Vakya that gives Sakshi-Jnana. Third is Upadesha Vakya and bestows Siva Jnana. Guru instructs the disciple. Fourth is Sakshatkara Vakya which confers Brahma-Jnana. You can take any Mahavakya and meditate on it as you do on OM.

Meditation on Aham Brahma Asmi: Constantly feel that you are the Suddha Sat-Chit-Ananda Vyapaka Atman (Pure, Existence Absolute, Knowledge Absolute, Bliss Absolute, All-Pervading Brahman), when you repeat mentally: "Aham Brahma Asmi." Lip repetition will not produce much benefit. You must intensely feel from the subjective heart. Gradually, you will be taken to superconscious state through deep feeling.

Sit in your Asana on a fourfold blanket. Face North or East and constantly feel:

1. Infinity I am.

2. Eternity I am.

3. Immortality I am.

Meditation on Mahavakyas is tantamount to meditation on OM. You can take either 'Aham Brahma Asmi' or 'Tat Tvam Asi' Mahavakya, and meditate on its significance. Negate or throw out the Koshas yourself and identify with the one essence that lies behind them.

Meditate. Purify your mind. Practise concentration in a solitary room. Then squeeze out the Upanishads and the Gita from your heart. Do not depend upon imperfect commentaries. If you are sincere, you will understand the real Sankalpa of the Rishis of the Upanishads and Lord Krishna, you will know what they really meant when they uttered those wise Slokas.

Unfold the Divinity that is lurking in your heart by concentration and meditation. Do not waste your time. Do not waste your life.

Negative Meditation

"I am not the body. I am not the mind. I am Sat-Chit-Ananda Svarupa." Meditate on the above ideas constantly. Feel you are the Sat-Chit-Ananda Svarupa always, all through twenty-four hours. Negate the body-idea. Incessant Sadhana is necessary to remove Deha-Adhyasa which is due to Anadi Samskaras (beginningless impressions). If you can go above the body-consciousness, if you can leave the body at will, three fourths of your Sadhana is over. There is a little balance only. Then, there remains only the drawing of the curtain, removal of the veil of Avidya. That can be done quite easily. Even when you move about, even when you are at work, always feel that you are all-pervading, infinite Brahman. This is important. Thinking, concentration and efforts to separate yourself from the body should go together. In negative meditation, the Jnani dwells in Suddha, Nirguna Brahman. He has no consciousness of the world.

Positive Meditation

1. I am the All (Sarvatva)

2. I am in All (Sarvatmaka)

Meditate on the above ideas. In this meditation, the body and the world are taken as Brahman. As expressions of Brahman they are included. It is highly preposterous to think that Brahman is by itself full of Ananda and that which is expressed out of Brahman is full of misery, pain and sorrow. Pessimism should be shunned. It is the Jiva Srishti that is at the bottom of all pain and misery. There is nothing wrong in Isvara Srishti. Isvara Srishti does not give the least pain. On the contrary, it is Kama, Krodha, idea of mine, thine, "I am the doer" etc., that cause all trouble. This is due to Ajnana which causes identification with the limited mind.

Repeat the above idea mentally at all times. Feel you are the All. Feel that your Shakti is working in all bodies. Constantly dwell on these ideas: "The whole world is my body. All bodies are mine. All lives are mine. All pains are mine. All joys are mine." Jealousy, anger, hatred, egoism all will vanish. In the Samadhi of positive meditation, the Jnani sees within himself the world as a movement of ideas. He is both Saguna and Nirguna.

copyright © 2020 the divine life society. All rights reserved.